Building a project

Along with creating new transforms there are more advanced ways to grow your projects.

Make project-wide updates

At any point you might realize that you need to change a parameter of a query that will affect man downstream tables. This will make these tables stale and you'll see their color turn to yellow on the map.

After finishing your updates you can run each transform individually to propagate changes or you can use the Run button in the top menu to run many nodes in sequence. This menu gives you the option to run all stale nodes, or all downstream or upstream nodes (from the node you have selected).

Branch project

You might want to run two separate transforms on the same table. To do this you can select the table or dataset and click the small plus icon that appears under the bottom right corner of the node.

Now you have two side by side transforms and tables. These will run independently of each other.

Copy transforms

To copy a transform, right click the transform and select Copy transform.

This will copy the transform, including all parameters specified in the detail view, and allows you to insert it somewhere else in your project tree, to re-use querying logic. Note that tables cannot be copied alone; copying a transform node will copy the transform and its downstream table.

Insert transforms

To insert a transform, right click another transform node and select Insert new transform above.

This will insert a new transform and output table above the selected transform, allowing you to perform additional operations which will output an updated table, to be used in the selected transform. To insert a copied transform, select Insert copied node above. Note that you'll have to run the newly inserted node to populate the output table for use in downstream operations.

Shift nodes

To shift a dataset node, hover and click the arrow to the side of the node.

This will move the dataset to the left (or right), and reorganize your tree according to the new horizontal order of datasets at the top of your project minimap. Note that shifting nodes is purely an organizational tool; it has no effect on the data produced in the project.

Delete nodes

To delete a node, right click on a dataset or transform node and select Delete.

When deleting a transform, the transform and output table will be deleted; every transform must have an output table to record results of that transform . If the project tree has additional nodes downstream, the transform and output table will be 'spliced' out, i.e. the upstream node nearest the deleted transform will be connected to the downstream node nearest to the deleted output table. Note that this deletion will cause the next downstream transform to receive new input variables from the node that's directly upstream. (In the above example, deleting the selected transform will result in the 'Optum SES Inpatient Confinement' dataset being connected directly to the remaining transform, which will change the variables available to work with in that transform.)

When deleting a dataset, the dataset and all downstream nodes will be deleted. If additional branches are joined into the branch downstream of the deleted dataset, those branches will be retained up to but not including the transform located in the deleted branch.

Since you can't undo a deletion, you'll receive a warning message before proceeding.