Manage datasets
Create a new dataset
All datasets on Redivis are owned by either an individual user or an organization.
To create a dataset owned by a user, navigate to your workspace. Under Datasets, select + New dataset. To create a dataset owned by an organization that you administer, navigate to the organization's administrator panel. Under Datasets, select + New dataset.
For step-by-step guides on creating and editing datasets, see the accompanying Create & manage datasets guide.
Edit a dataset
To edit a dataset, navigate to your workspace or organization administrator panel, and select the dataset you would like to edit. You can also see an Edit dataset link at the top of the dataset page for all datasets that you are an editor of.
From within the dataset editor, you can update data, metadata, and release a new version of the dataset. Select the View dataset link to see how this dataset looks to the public, if this project is publicly visible.
On the Overview tab, you can populate metadata fields of the dataset. Any fields you leave blank will not be shown to users on the dataset's page.
On the Table and Files tabs, you can upload the dataset's contents.
Assigning editors
If a dataset is owned by a user, that user has the ability to edit and modify the dataset. If a dataset is owned by an organization, all administrators of the organization will have such rights.
You can also add other editors by selecting Configure access on the dataset, then adding those individuals as editors. Editors can upload data, modify metadata, and release new versions, but they cannot modify any of the dataset's access rules or change the dataset's published status.
Dataset editors can find this dataset in their workspace on the Datasets tab.
Configure access
A big part of editing a dataset is managing who has access to it. See more about configuring access to datasets.
Upload data
Getting data into Redivis is the first and most important step in making it accessible for your research community. Redivis is designed to make it easy for you to securely ingest data at scale.
Redivis supports a wide variety of data types, sources, and upload methodologies. When beginning to upload data, you should first ask:
What type of data is it?
Where is the data?
A computer
An external source (Box, Drive, GCS, S3, etc.)
How do I want to perform the upload?
Through the browser
Publish a dataset
When a dataset is first created, it is marked as unreleased. You can specify access rules for the dataset, however, they will only take effect once the dataset is published and can only be modified before the dataset's publication.
As you work on the initial version of a dataset, you can see the changes made in the version history modal. In this unreleased state, you can add it to a workflow and analyze the data it contains. Only people who can see it in the workflow are dataset editors. If you make changes to the data or delete it, your workflow will change to reflect that.
Once you are ready to make your data available to non-editors, you will need to publish it by selecting Publish. This will release the version and make your dataset discoverable.
Once published and pursuant to the dataset's access configuration, all Redivis users will have one of the following access levels to the dataset: none, overview, metadata, sample, data.
Unpublish a dataset
Datasets owned by organizations can be unpublished at any time. This will "unlist" the dataset so that it is not listed on your organization's home page. Even users who meet the access requirements will not be able to see it. Anywhere it is used in a workflow, it is made unavailable.
Unpublishing might be used if you need to temporarily halt usage of the dataset, but don't want to disrupt all of its access rules.
Additional settings
On the dataset editor page, you will see an additional Settings tab that is not visible to the public. Here, various options for the dataset can be configured:
Dataset name
You can rename the dataset here or by selecting the dataset title within the dataset editor.
Administrator notes
These notes are only visible to editors of the dataset and may provide helpful documentation for administrative processes around maintaining the dataset.
Featured status
This is for organization datasets only and allows and administrator to choose whether the dataset should be featured on your organization's landing page.
Transfer a dataset
On the dataset settings, you have the option to transfer a dataset to a new owner.
In order to make a transfer, you'll need to have permissions to manage dataset. For a user-owned dataset, this means being the owner or editor. For an organization-owned dataset, this means being an administrator of the organization.
You'll also need to transfer the dataset either to yourself or to an organization where you are an administrator.
Access migration
Anytime you transfer a dataset that has an access restriction assigned to it, Redivis will preserve your dataset's access configuration on transfer. For example, if you've configured the dataset's access levels to anything other than Public, such as Direct access, All members, or Requirements, it will preserve that setting when transferred.
However, you will need to specify who (if anyone) will continue to have their access approved at the corresponding level as before the transfer.
Remove all access
You can choose to end previously granted access for all users. Anyone who previously had gained access to the data through approved requirements or direct access will need to reapply and be reapproved by the new owner or owning organization.
With this setting, the dataset will arrive to its new owner with no approved access except for the new owner or organization administrators.
Preserve direct access
This option will preserve users' current access when the dataset is transferred.
If a user had been granted direct access at a given given level by the initial owner, they will be automatically granted direct access at the corresponding level for the new owner.
If a user had gained access through a requirement, they will automatically be granted direct access to the corresponding access level for the new owner.
When transferring from one organization to another, you will need to decide if you will preserve access for users who are members of both organizations, or if you want to create memberships at the destination organization for all users who were not already members.
Preserve access system (organizations only)
If a dataset with a permission group is being transferred from one organization to another, you can choose to preserve the full access system and preserve users' current access.
This option will copy the dataset's permission group and all requirements in that group to the new owner organization.
If a permission group or requirement being copied over has an identical name to one in the destination organization, the transfer doesn’t succeed and an error is thrown. You will need to rename the requirement in one or the other organization for this to succeed.
All approvals for these requirements will also be transferred with the same status, like approved, revoked, etc.
You will need to decide if you will preserve access only for users who are members of both organizations, or if you want to create memberships at the destination organization for all users who were not already members.
If an export environment is assigned to the original organization's permission group, it will not be copied over to the new owner organization. However if one exists in the new owner organization, it will be added to the dataset's permission group. No export approvals will be copied over.
Last updated
Was this helpful?

