Authentication

In order to create a Redivis account, you must authenticate through your academic institution or through any Google account. Over 2,500 academic institutions from around the world are currently supported, with more being added regularly.

Redivis will request some basic information when you authenticate, such as your name, email, and any relevant affiliations or titles; it will not have access to any other information through your Google or institutional account.

Adding emails / authentications to your account

It is strongly encouraged that each individual has only one Redivis account, and that your identity on Redivis map to your real-world identity. However, it is common that you might have multiple emails that you want to associate with your Redivis account: personal email, university email, visiting-scholar university email.

In order to add an email to your account, navigate to the settings page of your workspace, and click Add email address to account within "Emails and authentication". A new browser window will open requesting the relevant credentials, after which this new email will be associated with your account. Note that you log in to your Redivis account with any of the authentication mechanisms provided in this list.

If you lose access to all of emails associated with your account, you will no longer be able to log in to Redivis.

For this reason, it is strongly encouraged that you add a personal email to your account. This way, if you ever lose access to your institutional email, you will still be able to log in to your Redivis account (though you may not have access to certain datasets that required your previous institutional affiliation).

Merging accounts

If you have more than one Redivis account, we strongly encourage you to merge them. In order to merge multiple accounts, you should perform the following steps:

  1. Identify which account should be your "primary" account once the process is complete. This is likely the account that has the majority of projects and datasets.

  2. Log in to your non-primary account.

  3. Transfer ownership of all datasets and projects to your primary account.

  4. Delete the non-primary account by clicking "Delete account" within your workspace settings. WARNING: This action cannot be undone.

  5. Log in to your primary account, and add the email(s) that were previously associated with your non-primary account to your primary account.