Versions

Overview

All datasets on Redivis are versioned, with any change to the data in their tables prompting a new version. A version is a locked copy of the data that can't be edited or deleted, supporting future reproducibility and confidence in the persistence of researchers' data workflows.
Changes to documentation and metadata do not create a new version, though different versions do have independent documentation and metadata. For example, if a new version contains a new table, or new data, you will likely want to document this information separately from the previous version. However, if you only want to enrich the existing metadata on the current version, you can do so without creating a new version.
If you are a dataset editor and have updated data, find a mistake to correct, or would otherwise like to modify the existing content of the dataset's tables, you can create and release a new version.

Semantic version tags

To help researchers better understand if the differences across versions, Redivis uses semantic versioning, of the form v[major].[minor] The first version of every dataset is v1.0. For subsequent versions, the tag will augment automatically depending on the changes being released.
  • Major update: Your existing code may not run.
    • Triggered when a new version renames, deletes, or retypes variables in the dataset's tables. Also occurs if any tables from the previous version were deleted.
  • Minor update: Your existing code will generally run.
    • Changes are limited to adding / removing records, recoding variables, adding variables, and adding tables.

Version history

On any dataset page, you can view the current version tag next to the dataset title, and click on this tag to switch to view a full version history and switch to a different version of this dataset.
Change versions on the dataset page, and view a complete version history in the Versions tab
Within a project, you can change the version of a dataset by selecting the dataset node and clicking the Version button at top right. If there is a new version available, the dataset node will be highlighted to indicate that you might want to upgrade.
When a new version is available, the dataset in your project will be highlighted.

Creating a new version

When it's time to update a dataset's data, you'll want to create a new version. To do this, navigate to the dataset editor and click Create next version.
Before this version is released, it will be tagged as next. Only dataset editors will be able to see the next version on the dataset page and use it in their projects.
A dataset can have up to 1,000 versions. If your use case exceeds this limit, consider creating a new dataset that imports the previous dataset's tables once this limit has been reached.
Create subsequent versions from within the dataset editor

Version storage

All versions of a dataset contribute to that dataset's total size, which in turn will count towards your usage quotas or organization billing (depending on whether the dataset is owned by you or an organization).
This total size will be displayed in the dataset editor, alongside the size for the current version. For datasets with one version, this total size may be slightly larger than the current version, as Redivis stores certain metadata behind the scenes to support future versioning.
As new versions are created, Redivis will efficiently compute a row-level difference between the versions — only additions and updates to existing data will contribute to the dataset's total storage size, preventing data that is consistent across versions from being double-counted.

Version unrelease

If the most recent version of a dataset has been released in the last 7 days, and there is no Next version already created, you'll have the option to unrelease it.
This will revert the dataset to the exact state it was in before the version was released. If anyone who is not a dataset editor has this version in a project, it will no longer be available to them.

Version deletion

Any version of a dataset can be deleted as long as it is not the most recent released version. Deleting this version will permanently delete all metadata and data associated with it.
This version will no longer be available in any projects, and where it was previously it use it will now be unavailable. In order to continue in the project, it will need to be updated to a different version. If tables do not exist between versions, any transforms referencing a table will be shifted to reference a different one.
Deleting a version is permanent and can't be undone.
You be trying to delete a version to save space, but know that Redivis stores data efficiently and this deletion might not have the impact you would expect. Any record that is used in multiple versions is only stored once and would not be deleted alongside this version if used elsewhere.
Last modified 30d ago